Behold the new masters of darkness! SEPTICFLESH kindly invite you to join “The Great Mass”. The Greeks’ seventh full length is a new symphonic masterpiece that constitutes a quantum leap in the art of amalgamating orchestral music with Heavy Metal.

These songs are audible evidence of guitarist Christos Antoniou finishing his studies of classical composition with academic honours and distinction.

“The Great Mass” sounds nothing like the nowadays all too common application of ordinary soundtrack themes to hard music.

The course for this exciting journey was already charted on the band’s celebrated comeback album “Communion” (2008), which showed the way with a refined version of SEPTICFLESH’s trademark sound: massive deadly guitars at the edge of blackness combined with intricate string-work are supplemented by haunting gothic melodies and epic orchestral arrangements.

The Greeks had used their hiatus after splitting up in 2003 well.

SEPTICFLESH started out in the year 1990 when Spiros “Seth” Antoniou (vocals, bass), Sotiris Vayenas (guitars) and Christos Antoniou (guitars), who are all still members, formed the band in March together with some friends.

Their first release the “Temple of the Lost Race” EP (1991) is followed by a period of low profile, which the Greeks use to improve their technical abilities and song writing skills.

Thus it does not come as a surprise, that their debut album “Mystic Places of Dawn” (1994) pays tribute to the band’s impressive progress.

As a result the track “Return to Carthage” is later chosen for the “Death Is only the Beginning” compilation.

On their next record, “Esoptron” (1995), SEPTICFLESH still continue to explore and enhance their style, steadily gaining more followers. Instead of resting on their laurels, the group took a risk and succeeded to transform their sound on “The Ophidian Wheel” (1997) and its heir “A Fallen Temple” (1998) – which combined five new songs with a re-recording of their first EP – into a new dimension.

Using female vocalist Natalie Rassoulis and her neo-classical singing, the band flirts with a more theatrical direction.

They also produce their first video clip, which is published under the title “The Eldest Cosmonaut” (1998) as an EP with four new songs.

SEPTICFLESH are ready for the next step in their career, after re-creating their early days on the compilation “Forgotten Past” (1999).

Then, for the first, but not the last time the band enters the famous Studio Fredman, where “Revolution DNA” (1999) is recorded under the guidance of star producer Fredrik Nordström (IN FLAMES, DIMMU BORGIR, DARK TRANQUILLITY). Widening their stylistic perspective and with a massive more modern production the Greeks dare another experiment, which once again is well received by the public.

Their next output seems to be summing up the career of SEPTICFLESH in more than just one aspect. For “Sumerian Daemons” (2003) they return to Studio Fredman as well as mixing the different facets of their previous albums into a new formula.

Referring back to their own musical history proves a wise decision, but in October 2003 the band shocks their loyal fans by splitting up in their fourteenth year of existence.

Most members continue to play hard music with different projects and bands, but their supporters keep lamenting the loss of one of the few innovative and original groups in the dark genre.

Their sad cries are being heard and SEPTICFLESH first announce a reunion show at the Metal Healing Festival in their home country on February 19th, 2007 and shortly hereafter a new full length on French label Season of Mist. “Communion” was released on March 17th and March 25th, 2008 in the US.

This album quickly proved to be another milestone in SEPTICFLESH’s ascendancy and earned them the long deserved attention.

Official website

Unit 3B, Morewood Close, Sevenoaks, Kent TN13 2HU. Telephone 01732 450838
James How Music Strings Ltd is a registered Rotosound Company